Stamped


STRAWBERRY SECONDS
August 25, 2009, 8:51 pm
Filed under: yummy in the tummy

Here in England, the strawberries have gotten their second wind.  Of course, we first see them in June, in time for Wimbledon and its attendant strawberries and cream.  After waiting all winter for them, it’s easy to gobble them endlessly, and simply.

After a brief pause in July to catch their breath, the strawberries are back now, for one grand finale before autumn.  But for me, it’s a dilemma.  I eagerly eat my fill when they first arrive in early summer.  And now, I’d like to do the same — especially since, while strawberries are abundant here, many late summer fruits like peaches and melons are not to be found locally, and also since, well, winter is coming eventually — but, somehow, I’m, oooooh, I can hardly write it!, a little tired of them.

So I am loving two recipes I’ve found this year that put a sneaky twist on strawberries and will keep me craving them till their chilly end.

Strawberry Compote
I saw this this morning on a favorite blog of mine and immediately went to the kitchen to address the two punnets of strawberries that I really should have eaten at breakfast, but…  Its original creator called this quick strawberry jam, but to me it seems more of a compote, so compote it shall be here.  I *love* a fruit compote because it does so much more to dress up my morning yogurt and granola than plain fresh fruit.  So simple, but so yummy.

1 pound hulled strawberries
1/4 cup sugar
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

In a food processor or with a potato masher, process strawberries until coarsely chopped. Transfer to a large skillet and stir in sugar and lemon juice. Cook over medium-high, stirring frequently, until jam is thickened and bubbles completely cover surface, 9 to 10 minutes. Transfer jam to a jar and let cool to room temperature. (To store, seal jar and refrigerate, up to 10 days).

strawberryjam2

Savoury Strawberry Salad
I don’t remember where on the Internet I originally saw this link earlier this summer, but I love #8 on this list of 10 things to do with strawberries.  It moves strawberries away from the sweet domain of breakfast and dessert.

Make a mixed green salad — try to include some sharp-tasting greens like rocket/arugula.  Add chopped strawberries, at a ratio of about 1 part strawberries to 3-4 parts greens.  Garnish with a crumbled, tangy cheese, such as blue, goat or feta, and toasted sliced almonds.

The vinaigrette ties it all together beautifully:  combine 1/4 cup white wine vinegar, 1/2 teaspoon Dijon-style mustard, 1 teaspoon garlic salt (yes, really) and 3 tablespoons diced red onion in a medium bowl; stir to combine and whisk in 3/4 cup vegetable oil or olive oil (extra-virgin preferred). Add freshly ground black pepper to taste.

strawberrysalad

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

